Jennifer Kim MGSH Cancel Culture GoldOsseo Area Schools students received more than 100 awards from the 2020 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards program, which recognizes outstanding student artists from across the state and provides scholarship opportunities for high school seniors. Artwork by the 19 Gold Key award winners is on display at the University of Minnesota’s Regis West Gallery (418 21st Ave. S, Minneapolis) from now through Feb. 22. Gallery hours are Tuesday-Saturday from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the longest running, most prestigious competition and largest source of scholarships for creative teenagers in the United States. The awards program was created in 1923 by Maurice R. “Robbie” Robinson, founder of Scholastic Corporation, and has been administered by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers since 1994. It has an impressive legacy and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Joyce Carol Oates and many others.

PHOTO: "Cancel Culture," a Gold Key-winning drawing by Maple Grove Senior High student Jennifer Kim. 

Gold Key winners

Ceramics and Glass

  • Peter Campbell, MGSH
  • Nina Feldman, MGSH
  • Michael Gorman, OSH
  • Jake Hurley, OSH
  • Hana Jakubovie, MGSH
  • Michelle Lam, PCSH
  • Kendall Potratz, OSH
  • Jordan Vylasek, OSH (two awards)
  • Jack White, OSH (two awards)

Drawing and Illustration

  • Jennifer Kim, MGSH (two awards)
  • Jim Lor, OSH
  • Jane Oh, OSH
  • Jacob Pearson, MGSH
  • Mya Trzynka, OSH


  • Gabby Bodin, OSH
  • Annalise Groff, OSH
  • Olivia Haik, MGSH
  • Greta Spanier, OSH (two awards)


  • Trenna Tafoya, MGSH (two awards)